The Fan Dance

So it’s been four weeks since I ran my first ever half marathon, and now I am back, pounding the trail, one footstep at a time, one click after another.

Before the big reveal, (if you haven’t worked it out from the title yet), I need to thank everyone for their generosity. You have helped me raise just over £600 for Médicins Sans Frontières and UNICEF. Never in my wildest dreams did I expect to raise that much.

I would have been skipping down the street, and swinging off the lamp posts like Gene Kelly with just £200, so I’ll let your imagination take you to where I’m at right now. Once again thank you. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again…you rock!

I spent three weeks, sat on the sofa resting my sore legs, twiddling my thumbs, and planning the next run. Over the next twelve weeks I will be covering almost 350 miles in training for ‘The Fan Dance’. A celebration of my first year of running.

Unless you’ve been in the military, or follow the history and stories of the armed forces, you won’t have heard of this run. A 7 and a half mile run over three mountain peaks, followed by a return, back over the three peaks to the start, in South Wales, well known as a run in the first week for selection to Britains elite fighting force, the S.A.S.

  

By no means the largest peaks in Wales, but when you add full TAB (Tactical Advance to Battle), a whopping 65lb of added weight to a yomp of 25 clicks, to be completed in under 4 hours, you can begin to see what a slog it can be.

Of course, I’m not going to attempt this run fully loaded, fitter men than me have died trying. I will be tackling this beast in clean fatigues, that is to say, the bare minimum of water, food, and med kit.

  

The three peaks in question are Corn Du 873m, (background),  Pen-Y-Fan 886m, (foreground), and Cribyn 795m, (position of camera).

I have walked these mountains a handful of times, and even met up with the chaps from Hereford a couple of times on the windswept peaks, but I have never contemplated pushing the pace…until now.

Once again I will be running to raise money for Médecins Sans Frontières and UNICEF; you can find the links to my just giving pages below.

Again, thank you all for continued support, and donations, you are amazing!

img_2507-3
img_2734-2

L’Humanité sans Frontières 

img_2357-12

Click the following link to read all about my half marathon.

img_2787

Are you passionate about human rights, animal welfare, and global warming? Then click the link below and #HELP!

img_2649-4
#HELP! No.5

 

Best of Worst

~

7 thoughts on “The Fan Dance”

Leave a Reply

